Caribbean Urban Music Awards set to shake JA

Spragga Benz will host the first Caribbean Urban Music Awards (CUMA) takes place at James Bond Beach in St Mary, Jamaica on April 26.

It promises to be a big night for Spragga as he counts many of his peers as influences for his own work.

The awards show is the brainchild of the Invincible Media Group, the same people behind the Urban Music Awards, which was staged in New York, for the first time last year, in celebration of its 5th anniversary.

Chris Mitchell, Marketing Manager of the Invincible Media Group, has said: “We plan to make this a people’s choice awards ceremony which will serve to promote Caribbean music and artists internationally to millions of homes like never before.”

Winners of the Caribbean Urban Music Awards will be decided by ballots cast on the Urban Music Awards website:

These are the nominees:

Artist of the Year
Beenie Man
Collie Buddz
Junior Reid
Sean Paul
Spragga Benz

Best Album
I Wayne (Book of Life) VP Records
Ky-mani Marley (Radio) Ghetto Youths/Vox/Reality
Movado (Gangstas for Life/The Symphony of David Brooks)
Shaggy (Intoxication)
Sizzla (Overstanding) Konlanji Records/DDMG

Best Calypso Act
Alison Hinds (Barbados)
Black Stalin (Trinadad and Tobago)
Machel Montano (Trinadad and Tobago)
Nnika Francis – Don’t Let Me Go (Grenada)

Best Collaboration
Beenie Man ft Barbie (Give it Up)
Daville ft. Sean Paul (Always on My mind)
Jimmy and Tarrus Riley (Pull up Selector)
Shaggy ft Rik Rok (Bonafide)

Best Female Artist
Cherine Anderson
Lady Saw
Macca Diamond
Queen Ifrica
Tammy Chin

Best Group
Brick and Lace
Morgan Heritage

Best International Artist
Beenie Man
Collie Buddz
Sean Kingston
Spragga Benz

Best International Disc Jockey/Sound
Bass Odysee (Jamaica)
Chris Goldfinger (UK)
Malcom X (Barbados)
Mighty Crown ( Japan)
Robbo Ranx (UK)

Best Magazine (Online & Offline)
Riddim Magazine
Soca News

Best Male Artist
Buju Banton
Jah Cure
Spragga Benz
Tony Matterhorn
Wayne Wonder

Best Music TV Station
Hype TV (Jamaica)
Re:TV (Jamaica)
Tempo (St. Croix, Trinadad, Aruba, Jamaica,
Think Caribbean Television (Castries, Saint Lucia)
ZAL-TV 10 ( Antigua and Barbuda)

Best Newcomer
Cherine Anderson
Collie Buddz
Sean Kingston

Best Radio Station
Hott 95.3 fm (Barbados)
Irie Fm (Jamaica)
More 94fm (Bahamas)
WEFM 96.1 fm (Trinadad

Best Reggaeton Act
Daddy Yankee (Pueto Rico)
Don Miguelo (Dominican Republic)
Don Omar (Peuto Rico)
Hector El Father (Pueto Rico)
Tego Calderon (Pueto Rico)

Best Soca Artist
Alison Hinds (Barbados)
Barry Chandler (Jabae) – Flames (Barbados)
Expose – Tizzy (Antigua)
Nadia Batson – Caribbean Girl (TNT)

Sizzla, Spragga Benz, Tony Matterhorn, Collie Budds and Cherina Anderson are among those billed to perform on the night of the Caribbean Urban Music Awards.

A singing competition titled the Caribbean Next Urban Superstar has also been launched and there are plans to audition talent in several Caribbean islands, including Jamaica, Anguilla, Martinique, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Haiti, Dominica, Trinidad and Tobago.

The “Superstar” stands to win a recording and management contract and a chance to perform at future Urban Music Awards shows.